Map of the Area

Travel Honduras - Travel Guide - Tropical Discovery
  • 1,514 km² (585 sq mi)
  • average temperature 19 °C (66 °F) and 23 °C (73 °F)
  • UTC (GMT) -6 hrs
  • Lempira (L) 23.70 L = 1 USD
  • Spanish
  • (2018) 850,848
  • 14°6′0″N,87°13′0″W


Tegucigalpa (Spanish pronunciation: [te-goo-see-gahl-pah], formally Tegucigalpa, Municipality of the Central District, commonly referred to as Téguz, is the capital and largest city of Honduras along with its twin sister Comayagüela.

Tegucigalpa is located in the southern-central highland region known as the department of Francisco Morazán of which it is also the departmental capital. It is situated in a valley, surrounded by mountains. Tegucigalpa and Comayagüela, being sister cities, are physically separated by the Choluteca River. The Central District is the largest of the 28 municipalities in the Francisco Morazán department.

Tegucigalpa is Honduras' largest and most populous city as well as the nation's political and administrative center. Tegucigalpa is host to 25 foreign embassies and 16 consulates. It is the home base of several state-owned entities such as ENEE and Hondutel, the national energy and telecommunications companies, respectively. The city is also home to the country's most important public university, the National Autonomous University of Honduras, as well as the national soccer team. The capital's international airport, Toncontín, is known for its extremely short runway and the unusual maneuvers pilots must undertake upon landing or taking off to avoid the nearby mountains.

The city has diverse light industry, including the production of textiles, sugar, and cigarettes. Old Tegucigalpa, built on a steep hill, retains many quaint colonial aspects, with narrow streets and sidewalks, overhanging balconies, and stair-stepped streets.